North Carolina's Middle Coastal Plain

North Carolina's middle Coastal Plain region covers fourteen eastern North Carolina counties, which are linked by a common natural environment, culture, and history. The fourteen counties (highlighted in yellow) included in the region are:

  • Beaufort
  • Carteret
  • Craven
  • Edgecombe
  • Greene
  • Halifax
  • Johnston (portion)
  • Jones
  • Lenoir
  • Martin
  • Nash
  • Pamlico
  • Pitt
  • Wayne
  • Wilson
  • Many scholars believe that the middle Coastal Plain is where the culture of North Carolina developed. The upper Coastal Plain region shows a strong influence of Virginia, and the lower Coastal Plain region was greatly influenced by South Carolina. The middle Coastal Plain is where these influences were moderated and a North Carolina culture emerged.